Jason Kander to Chair the DNC’s Commission on Protecting Democracy from the Trump Administration

Let America Vote President Jason Kander has been named by the Democratic National Committee to chair a commission to fight the voter suppression tactics pushed by President Trump’s Commission on Election Integrity. The DNC’s Commission on Protecting American Democracy from the Trump Administration, which was announced today, will counter the President’s continued efforts to convince Americans that widespread fraud plagues elections and to implement voter suppression tactics that would stop voters from making it to the polls. It will also highlight best practices to make it easier for eligible voters to vote.

“Wherever President Trump goes trying to take away voting rights, we’ll be there to fight back,” Jason Kander said. “When President Trump created his voter suppression task force, he created a means to legitimize Republican efforts to make voting harder for the people who already have the toughest time casting a ballot. Trump’s presidency has already been a disaster, and he knows that the only way he’s going to win again in 2020 is if he tips the scales in his favor. His commission is meant to pave the way for restrictive laws that will allow Republicans to win elections. It’s wrong, it’s a danger to democracy and we’re not going to let it happen.”

Members of the Commission on Protecting American Democracy from the Trump Administration are:

–       Jason Kander (chair), President, Let America Vote
–       Congresswoman Terri Sewell (vice chair)
–       Senator Cory Booker
–       Congresswoman Gwen Moore
–       Congressman Joaquin Castro
–       Congresswoman Grace Meng
–       Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes
–       California Secretary of State Alex Padilla
–       Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey
–       District of Columbia Attorney General Karl Racine
–       Colorado House Speaker Crisanta Duran
–       Louisiana State Senator Karen Carter Peterson
–       Maricopa County Recorder Adrian Fontes